Creation, innovation and critique, a social housing competition

Rethinking and Redefining Social Housing in Montreal's City Centre

The Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle (L.e.a.p.) Research Group of the School of Architecture at l’Université de Montréal is pleased to announce their second Student Research/Creation Competition: Rethinking and Redefining Social Housing in Montreal's City Centre.
Led by Professor Anne Cormier, as part of a Research/Creation Grant funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, the L.e.a.p. competition program challenges teams of architecture students (each team also has the option to include a student from another field) to think about social housing as a space for creation, innovation, and criticism, in our Canadian city centres.
Fifteen teams, of 3 or 4 students each, will be chosen to participate in this Research/Creation competition which is open to Master Students at Canadian universities. Eligible students must be admitted to or attending an accredited architecture school in Canada or have graduated in fall 2006 or winter 2007.

$40 000 will be distributed amongst fifteen selected teams, including $2000 to each team that completes the second phase of the competition. Additionally, prizes will be awarded to the laureate projects:

  • $5000 to the top team;
  • $3000 to the second place team;
  • $2000 to the third place team.

An international jury, made up of prominent professionals in the fields of design, architectural theory, sociology, and public policy will evaluate the entries. Not only will the projects be exhibited in Montreal, they will also be published in the Canadian Competitions Catalogue.

Jury deliberations, an exhibition, and a public presentation of the student projects will take place as part of a public discussion on Social Housing and City Centres to be held in Montreal, in October 2007. 

2007 COMPETITION:
  • And the WINNERS are...
  • See the Canadian Competitions Catalogue for images and text from each of the projects.
  • A symposium on the topic of social housing as an agent of change will be held on October 6th, 2007. Click here.
  • Additional information for the second phase of the competition is now available. Click here.
  • 15 teams have been selected for the second Phase of the competition: click here to consult the list.
   DOWNLOAD
  •   Complete competition brief

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

The work submitted by students participating in this competition remains the intellectual property of its authors. However, upon submission of their work, teams agree to the unlimited reproduction of their projects by l’Université de Montréal and the L.e.a.p. Research Laboratory. It is also understood that the projects submitted in both the first and second phases become part of a research project and will be the subject of analysis beyond the tenure of the competition itself. In addition, the projects will become part of the Canadian Competitions Catalogue database, accessible via the Internet and available to a larger audience for research and pedagogical purposes. All submissions to this competition must be the original work of participants. Work completed as part of a professional mandate or an academic design studio will not be accepted.

FreeCompteur.com

Research funded by :

             

 

Introduction Goals & Description Rules & Structure Timeline Phase I Phase II Jury Q/A Addresses Results
Laboratoire d'Étude de l'Architecture Potentielle

Création, innovation et critique, un concours sur le logement social

Repenser et redéfinir le logement social au centre-ville de Montréal

Le laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle (L.e.a.p.), groupe de recherche de l’École d’architecture de l’Université de Montréal, est heureux d’annoncer le lancement de son second concours étudiant en recherche/création : Repenser et redéfinir le logement social au centre-ville de Montréal.
Dirigé par la professeure Anne Cormier, ce concours rémunéré s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche/création subventionné par le Conseil de recherche en sciences humaines du Canada. Il invite des équipes composées d’étudiants en architecture (chaque équipe pouvant inclure un étudiant d'un autre domaine) à réfléchir à la question du logement social comme espace de création, d’innovation et de critique en centre-ville canadien.
Quinze équipes composées chacune de trois à quatre étudiants inscrits ou admis à un programme de 2e cycle (maîtrise) d’une université canadienne en architecture ou ayant terminé leur maîtrise en architecture à l'automne 2006 ou à l'hiver 2007 seront sélectionnées pour y participer.

La somme de 40 000$ sera distribuée aux participants sélectionnés. De cette somme, 2000$ seront remis à chaque équipe qui aura complété la deuxième étape du concours. De plus, trois premiers prix seront répartis comme suit :

  • 5000$ à l’équipe gagnante,
  • 3000$ à l'équipe classée en seconde place,
  • 2000$ à l'équipe classée en troisième place.

Un jury international composé d’acteurs importants du domaine de l’architecture, du projet urbain et de la sociologie aura le mandat d’évaluer les projets soumis au concours. Les projets seront exposés à Montréal et publiés.

De plus, l’exposition des projets ainsi qu’une présentation publique de ces travaux feront partie d’un évènement spécial sur le thème du logement social dans les centres-villes. Cet événement aura lieu à Montréal en octobre 2007.

CONCOURS 2007:
  • Les LAURÉATS sont...
  • Voir le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens pour consulter les images et les textes des concurrents.
  • Un colloque sur le logement social comme agent de renouveau urbain se tiendra le 6 octobre prochain. cliquez ici.
  • Les documents complémentaires pour téléchargement de la deuxième phase du concours sont disponibles, cliquez ici.
  • 15 équipes ont été sélectionnées pour passer à la deuxième phase du concours ; consultez la liste en cliquant ici.
   TELECHARGER
  •   Règlement du concours

AVIS IMPORTANT:

Les projets et travaux soumis par les participants demeureront propriété intellectuelle de leurs auteurs. Toutefois, en soumettant leurs projets au jury du concours, les équipes sélectionnées acceptent que leur travail soit reproduit par l’Université de Montréal et par l’équipe de recherche du L.e.a.p. Il est également entendu que les projets soumis à la première et à la seconde étape du concours feront partie d’un projet de recherche scientifique. Se faisant, ils feront l’objet de divers travaux d’analyse au-delà même de la tenue du concours. De plus, les projets soumis seront intégrés à la base de données du Catalogue des Concours Canadiens et seront donc accessibles par Internet pour consultation dans un but pédagogique ou de recherche. Les propositions doivent être des productions originales des concurrents. Les travaux faisant partie d’un mandat professionnel ou académique (par exemple les projets conçus dans les écoles) ne seront pas acceptés.

FreeCompteur.com

Une recherche soutenue par:

 

             

 

Introduction Objectifs Structure & règlements Calendrier Etape I Etape II Jury Q/R Adresses Résultats
Laboratoire d'Étude de l'Architecture Potentielle